Photographing your products

When I post items for sale on Etsy I don’t just snap a photo and upload it from my phone.  I choose the best time of day to use natural light, in a bright room.  I style the item different ways – with props, a variety of backgrounds and folded / flat.  Offering your prospective buyers a few views of each product gives them a shopping experience that’s as close as possible to buying it in a store.  They can see all angles, the way the fabric drapes over something and it in comparison to items around it.

As much as I love shooting my wee guy and using him as a model for some of my items, I don’t like putting too many pics of him on the internet.  There’s enough there already that he’ll dislike when he’s older 😉

Do you have any tricks for shooting your products?

Leave a Reply

